Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Waulkmill

At one point last year, when looking for information online about a particular park in Glasgow, I came across another that I hadn't heard of: Dams to Darnley Country Park. I made a mental note to find out more and actually visit the place at some point in the future.

On waking up to sunshine on Thursday morning - a rare occurrence recently - I decided today was the day to visit Dams to Darnley. A couple of train journeys and about just under two hours later, I was there.

A pleasant, though muddy in places, walk through varied terrain and a variety of habitats leads on to Waulkmill Glen Reservoir (pictured). From there it's a short walk to three other reservoirs. Although it is possible to make a circular walk from there, I decided to retrace my steps (albeit taking a slightly different route in places) as I had a meeting in Cumbernauld in the evening and didn't want to be late.

Another mental note made to make a return visit later in the year to see how Dams to Darnley Country Park looks in the summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.