Fritillaries in the Rain

I'd noted in my calendar that Kelmarsh Hall in north Northamptonshire was open for a NGS event today. Bit early for NGS methinks but they say they start in March. I guessed it must be Spring flowers. It most certainly was.

The drive was lined with primroses, both yellow and pink, daffodils, wood anemones and fritillaries. I've never seen fritillaries in such abundance.

The forecast was cloudy but dry. It was not dry. Rain set in as we turned on to the A14 and continued throughout the visit. Never mind. We felt the place was a fantastic find, even if the refreshments were expensive and there was nothing gluten free. We look forward to visiting again as Spring draws on and Summer approaches.

I took two cameras. The infra red camera on loan from camera club for the annual challenge. I look forward to developing the pictures. The other camera was my Fuji x-t2 with 50mm lensbaby attached. It's odd working with the lensbaby. Although the camera indicates where there is, or should be, a degree of the photo in focus when in manual mode, it isn't necessarily. I realise I shall have to work with a tripod. It was just too much extra to carry around in the rain.

My extra is of a hellebore in vase, taken at home this morning. The edges were supposed to be in focus but as a whole, the flower has a soft glow. I think that's what I should be aiming for with the lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.