Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Jock

It's been a busy day. Well, sort of. This morning was spent supervising a bonfire of clippings and cuttings that has been in one of the paddocks for the last couple of months. It was most satisfying to finally get things cleared.
The afternoon was mostly spent on the couch watching the Australian Motorcycle GP from Phillip Island. I'm a huge bike racing fan and PI is perhaps the most perfect short circuit in the world. I was lucky to make the GP there in 2006, and I'm hoping that won't be my only visit.
With such exertions (!) blipping today took a bit of a back seat. Luckily, I don't have to go far to get a picture, in this case just outside to the paddock to capture this portrait of Jock, our pet Pitt Island Sheep.
Pitt Island Sheep are a rare feral breed, with the sheep descending from a small herd taken to Pitt Island in the Chatham Islands between 1814 and 1837. They're a skittish breed - which I guess comes from their feral nature on the island over the last 150 years -and Jock is a nervous boy, in keeping with the breed. Having said that he seems to be mellowing, which I put down to him sharing a paddock and shelter with our Kunekune pig Franklin. Maybe the security of having a big friendly 'paddock-mate' is good for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.