Three Kotuku at dusk

With the long weekend almost at its end, I decided once more to get down to the Ellesmere/Te Waihora lake shore to ride on the Little River Rail Trail for another chance to give the knee a workout (and see what was blippable) along the way between Sunset Point to Stony Point and back.

What a treat was in store for me. Once again a plethora of birdlife was on display - not to mention a huge gang of noisy pied stilts in the lagoon - but it was these three White Heron/Kotuku that really took my eye as they stood together in the shallows.

The one on the far right of the picture was initially fishing under one of the cycleway's bridges when my mountain bike disturbed its peace. Instantly it took off and circled me, crying out its distain. When the angry heron had finished giving me the talking to, he went off to join his mates at their fishing spot. Once again, founder seemed to be the dish of the day; I watched several being plucked out and guzzled down with much aplomb.

Sitting on the edge of the track, with the setting sun warming my face, it seemed hard to believe that tomorrow's another working day. Give me watching these magnificent birds any day of week...

Go large for full widescreen effect and to feel the serenity

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.