‘When I’m Cleaning Windows....’

It’s quite an indictment of the weather this year when it feels uncommonly mild this morning in an outside temperature of 8° (and also a feeling like 8° temperature). In the absence of any wind, it was possible to walk about without hat, scarf or gloves -heady stuff indeed!

This high rise window cleaner is happy enough, far above my head, to clock me and give a cheery wave.
Washing the windows in Quartermile is akin to painting the Forth Bridge in the days of yore -it never ceases. It is more daring when done at the end of a swaying rope rather than in a bucket attached to a huge cherry picker. Still, a head for heights is an advantage in either case.

George Formby’s ditty springs to mind whenever I spot a window cleaner
Now I go cleanin' windows to earn an honest bob
For a nosy parker it's an interestin' job
Now it's a job that just suits me
A window cleaner you would be
If you can see what I can see
When I'm cleanin' windows......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.