Not an easy day!!!

Today was the service for my dad!
It was a difficult day and I will not be able to write in too much detail about it.

We all had breakfast together with my aunt and cousins. Those who were not staying at Christina's house arrived a bit later. 
We then drove to all together the cemetery.

As expected, it fully hit me when I was standing in front of the urn and the photo!

The service was nice and attended by 120 people or so. But it was hard!
My best friend Pe was there as well and sat just behind me during the service.  She was like my sister when we were small and spent loads of holidays with us. Neil was the lovely, strong anchor on my side.

We went with all to a restaurant afterwards for a soup, sandwiches and cake. I could eat again and had the soup and quite a bit of cake, but my stomach was still a bit fragile.
There were a lot of people joining and there were a lot of conversations.The mood was lifting. We also did a family shot outside in the sun.
At 4 or 5 pm we drove back to the house and I think we had more cake and coffee.

In the evening Christina had booked a table at a lovely restaurant just for family and her best friends.

Back home we were all shattered.

It took me a while to edit those photos. I am back blipping over 2 weeks later and I thought about what to blip for quite a bit!

I am posting a photo from the inside of the chapel, with the flowers, the urn and the photo.
I took it a while after the service was completed and when I felt a bit more stable again and could try again to say good bye when I was alone in there..
It will be my blip of the day. It has to be. Nothing else could account for it.

I also add the family shot (including me) as an extra. A positive thing of such occasions is, that family gets together. However, last time was my Dad's 80th birthday. A much happier occasion! We still all smiled for this photograph!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.