Sunshine in Germany!

Neil and I slept in and only woke up after 10 am when everyone else was already gathered around the table for breakfast.

Luckily no one was offended when we joined late.

We were sitting with everyone until the friends, cousins and aunt were preparing to leave.
It was only Christina and us left.

I am glad that we were staying lnger, so the house gets only gradually empty instead of all at once.

Christina sent me an Neil out to get some fresh air and sunshine.

I took Neil to Bensheim, where we went to Red Code Roasters for a coffee. We were sitting outside in the sun, it was nice.
Then we walked a bit around in the old town.

On the way back we made a stop at castle Frankenstein and climbed the ruin a bit.
We were back in the house for 7 pm and Christina had prepared a lovely dinner of Ossobucco.
I prepared the gremolata with lemon, wild garlic and garlic. Since there are less woman in the house, I could find something to do in the kitchen.

After dinner the neighbours came in for a glass of wine and a chat. They had just returned from a week in Glasgow.

We collapsed after too much wine and another day full of emotions.

I am blipping my wonderful Neil, being so grateful to have him at my side.

I do not even dare to try and imagine, how Christina must be feeling after the loss of her love. Waking up on her own every morning, the house empty.
Yes - it was the loss of a father to me and it is a huge gap. But I created a place in my heart a long time ago, because of the distance we were living in. For her it is so much harder, feeling the hole every single moment of the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.