MM220 - every picture tells a story

The weather today has been lovely.  Sunny and warm.  Actually warm. 

Back to Fitness Class this afternoon after the Easter break.  Fourteen there today which made the room rather crowded.  Enjoyed it as usual. Then some shopping in Tesco.  Also got a T Shirt in one of the charity shops. Only cost £2.

I also took my blip shot while I was down at the village.  The Mono Monday challenge today is " Every Picture Tells A Story".  My photo illustrates the decline of the Working Mens Club.

The building in my photo used to be  our local Working Mens Club.  On the 6th June 1904, a group of local men inaugurated the Whickham and District Social Club. The Club was initially located in Front Street, Whickham, but soon acquired these premises, originally a stone built farmhouse, part of which is still visible.  In 1910 affiliation with the Club and Institute Union took place and later extensive alterations were carried out to the building.

The club was always  a very popular venue for local people, who were  entertained in very spacious and impressive surroundings. There was a snooker room as well as a bar and a couple of rooms for entertainment. The club closed in 2016. The building is still for sale at the moment.

I remember visiting The Club many times over the years.  I used to go with my Dad -  before I was married. I often went on Tuesday evenings when they showed films.  And I went a few times to see popular local comedian Bobby Thompson.  All the clubs in the North East were packed when Bobby Thompson was appearing. And there used to be a party at Christmas for children of members.   After I was married Douglas and I used to go every Saturday night ( before we had the children).  We liked going into the " Concert Room " where there would be a live act.  Some of them were really good.  And of course there was bingo. And a meat raffle.  And the " Fish Man " used to come round with little packets of prawns, mussels, whelks etc

Working men’s and social clubs were the place to go for a cheap pint, a natter and some live entertainment.  Once the heartbeat of their community, clubs were packed to the rafters on a weekend and the talk of the town when a good act was booked. However the decline of traditional North East industries, the smoking ban and an aging membership hit the clubs hard and many have closed.

Thanks to chantler63 for hosting the challenge - and giving me the opportunity to tell you something about the Working Mens Clubs.

In other news - my new camera arrived today. ( Not that I need a new camera - but that's never stopped me from buying one ) Its battery is charging at the moment - maybe I will use it to take tomorrow's blip shot.

Posting late as the " stupid " internet was playing up. 

Steps today - 10,847



  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.