NEW

The postman ringing on the doorbell woke me up quite early.  I went back to bed again.  Then the phone rang about half an hour after that - tried to go back to sleep and managed another hour.  The weather today has been terrible - foggy and rainy -  so I aborted my plans to go to Newcastle.

Pottered around indoors until around 4.30pm when the rain wasn't quite so bad and I walked to The Co-op.  Didn't really need anything but I wanted to get some steps.

Becky and Mike got back from Paris late last night and this morning Mike had to leave the house at 5.30am to catch a plane to Nairobi, Kenya - a work trip.  I'm sure he would have preferred a few days in between doing a marathon and travelling to Kenya.

The Tiny Tuesday theme today is " Never seen that before" - something new to you, or maybe something you think might be new to other blippers.

A bag of sweets arrived this morning.  I saw them on Amazon and decided to try them. They are made in Holland.  They are de Bron Salt Liquorice. Well I love liquorice and I like salted caramel, salted popcorn etc. so they seemed to be a good choice.  I tried one of the sweets.  First of all I could taste salt - it was VERY salty.  Then liquorice - a strong liquorice taste.  Like the old fashioned liquorice I used to eat when I was little.  We called it Hard Juice.  Used to get it with sherbet. So far so good -  this new sweet was tasting OK but then ..............YUK - a taste and smell of something I didn't care for at all.  A taste and smell which got worse.  I did finish the sweet as it was quite small but I wondered what was in it that I didn't like.

Read through the ingredients and came across Ammonium chloride.  Decided to go online to find out about this " new to me " ingredient.

According to Wikipedia " Salty liquorice is flavoured with ammonium chloride which gives the gives liquorice an astringent, salty taste which has been described as tongue - numbing and almost-stinging.  Its an acquired taste and people not familiar with ammonium chloride might find it physically intense and distasteful"

Wish I had read that before buying my bag of sweets.

So something new for me.  Not sure whether to try another one.  Shall I be brave?

Thanks to intothehills for hosting the challenge.

Steps today - 7,189

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.