Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ship's Log - Day 8 - Grand Cayman

We awoke early to the sounds of the ship’s tender boats being lowered, signaling our arrival in Grand Cayman.  

We were in no rush to disembark, so Hubs went to the gym while I headed to the Atrium (seen in yesterday’s Log) for a Chai Tea.  After both our missions were complete and showering had occurred, we had a quick breakfast and took one of the ship’s tenders into port in Grand Cayman.

Wow, what a zoo!  It is the quintessential port town, loaded with tourist shops, vendors, and a seemingly endless supply of rum cake.  Also a startling number of smallish black chickens and accompanying roosters trying to snatch up dropped morsels.  It was all a bit chaotic, so after a brief stroll around, we decided to return to the relative sanity of the ship.  

Back on the ship, I managed to get some shots of this rather fascinating tug boat just as it had finished maneuvering a tanker around.  I’ve never seen a tug boat configured quite this way with the massive rubber “bumper” towed behind. Also very odd that it was towing a small boat behind it - maybe the pilot boat?   From head on, it looked like a very portly woman with the widest hips imaginable.  Probably how I’d look if I spent much longer on this ship, eating all the fabulous food!

By 1:30 were were ensconced in some comfy deck chaises in a nice patch of shade on the 16th deck.  And by 2:30, we were underway.

We will be at sea all day tomorrow and arrive in Fort Lauderdale early Wednesday morning.  The perfect weather continues and I am soaking up every delightful moment of it.

And, although I’m looking like I’ve gone several rounds in a boxing ring, I am continuing to heal.  When we are home, I will make an appointment to be checked out by my own doctor just to make sure I am on track.  

xo

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.