Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Inner City

Monday saw one of my regular meet-ups with former work colleagues for lunch. The bus timetable - and assuming the buses run on time, which is always a big assumption - meant I arrived in Glasgow with plenty of time to spare, so I dropped into the Gallery of Modern Art (GoMA) to see what exhibitions are on display.

They seemed to be in transition mode, as two of the four galleries were between exhibitions and the exhibition in Gallery Four had already been on display for some time. However, the installation in Gallery Three was new to me - according to the blurb it opened only on 16 February.- and was, in my opinion, worth a visit.

It is called Inner City and the accompanying note states that it "explores questions about the modern city, hidden communities and cultural identity. It takes its name from its centrepiece, an installation by Michael C McMillen [pictured - see extra also] - an amazingly detailed and atmospheric fictional description of a Los Angeles slum - which is on display here [Glasgow] for the first time in 15 years."

The exhibitions and installations in the GoMA are, for me, a very much hit-or-miss affair, but this one caught my imagination.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.