Granddaughter at Bodiam Castle

A day out with Matthew and granddaughter at Bodiam Castle with a trip on the KESR thrown in as well. It was a tight run thing to catch the first train. I was getting a round of bacon rolls from the messroom as the whistle was being blown for departure. I managed to dive onto the train by the nearest door making my way up the coaches until I reached where we were sitting.

Susan was a little perturbed as she thought I’d been left on the platform but knew this sort of behaviour had happened in the past. And Matthew confirmed that I’d always cut it fine when getting on another part of the train having got off to take photos.

All's well that ends well and we were able to enjoy the bacon rolls drifting along the track to Bodiam.

The Castle was busy, granddaughter had a go at archery, not hitting the target and having fun with my camera as you can see.

Lunch was at the National Trust cafe, where Susan and I had The honeyed swede soup, and interesting taste to say the least which lasted a good time.

An enjoyable ride home on the diesel DMU, sitting at the very back where we were able to see the track unwinding behind us. Always an interesting view, one not seen very often.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.