Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Murdoch

Here is Murdoch looking smart and neatly groomed after this visit to the dog parlour yesterday.

Some background on Murdoch for the Blipdogs entry - he is a Standard Schnauzer, and is 11,5 years old. The vet reckons there is still plenty of life left in Murdoch, his breed have a life span of 13-16 years. He was the cutest puppy, his coat was completely black and then it became a wiry salt and pepper coat as he matured. These days his coat is more salt than pepper! He is the most loyal dog I have ever had, and I grew up with dogs and have had many breeds over the years. He is absolutely devoted to me and follows me around the house, and will always settle near to where I am. Although devoted he is not needy, and can be left on his own for many hours - in fact he is such an easy dog, I cannot fault him. As a puppy he was very wilful, he used to run off when taken for walks off the lead and often caused me some very stressful moments trying to find him again. On one such occasion I could not find him in the woods and returned home in desperation after searching for hours - he turned up a little while later, he managed to find his way home including crossing roads (I shudder at the thought) and got himself home, proving he is a very intelligent dog as he was very young at the time, probably just over a year old. However all that nonsense ceased after he was about 2 years old. I like that he is not at all aggressive to other dogs, I don't think I have ever seen him snarl at another dog. I talk to him all the time and he completely understands what I am saying! He is not a greedy dog, often does not eat his breakfast until dinner time, but if he hears me chopping carrots he will get up from where he is and come and sit right next to me with hopeful eyes. Ditto for cheese, I only have to get the cheese out the fridge and while it is still wrapped in it's packaging he has already smelt it and I get those hopeful eyes again.

Another grey and cold day, I wished I was wearing a woolly hat on my dog walk this morning which is utterly ridiculous for this time of year. What the hell has happened to spring?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.