Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Finishing touches

I went up to London today as I wanted to start looking at some soft furnishings (cushions, bed throws etc.) for the new house - everyone must be bored rigid by now every time I mention the new house but it is an all consuming project at the moment, and will continue to be until we have moved in!

I went to Peter Jones on Sloane Square - I love that department store! While it is a John Lewis store, it has a far wider range of things to buy and their home department is to die for! I could spend all day browsing amongst those sumptuous fabrics and finishing touches. Then on the way home I stopped off at another shop where I wanted to check out their wardrobes (needed for the guest room) and I love the way they display their wares, this image being a good example.

Last night I spent some time searching websites with Luke for accommodation. He does not want to rent a flat on his own, firstly it is too expensive and secondly it will be a bit miserable living on his own and he would rather be with French people so he can improve his language skills. There are many websites offering shared accommodation for Erasmus students (students who study/work abroad) but of course, some of them had my over-active-over-over-anxious-mum brain in overdrive, thinking does he sound like a paedophile, (I did tell myself that a 55 year old man offering accommodation for a young male student could be quite innocent, but then again...) does he sound like a drug addict (artist/musician looking for someone chilled to share accommodation - again, he could be the principal violinist of the Philharmonie de Paris so relax mum!) He has had quite a few replies but in many cases the dates don't work or they are too far out as he will be working in the La Défense area. There was one advert of shared accommodation in a beautiful old Parisian mansion situated right next to the Luxembourg Gardens which he is waiting to hear about.

Poor Thomas is getting quiet stressed about his upcoming IGCSE exams - he has not taken a break all holiday and I am getting worried that he will tire himself out before going back to school, but he refuses to take a day off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.