Birdhouse in your Soul

I always admire this pretty bird feeder (OK, not a Birdhouse as per the title, but I couldn't find a song about a bird table!) when I walk past it, and today I sneakily photographed it. I think its owner could do with refilling it. I don't think the birds will care how fine it looks if it offers them no sustenance!

I googled the lyrics to the song, and at first glance they made no sense whatsoever. But apparently it is written from the point of view of a nightlight in the shape of a blue canary. Then it all becomes clear. At the end it repeats the line "While you're at it, keep the nightlight on in the birdhouse of your soul", meaning that the things that bring light and joy to your soul are to be treasured and protected. Which is sound advice for us all!

This is in Metheringham - I see it if I walk a certain way when visiting my parents. 

There was plenty for me to do today - shopping and collecting prescriptions, bed-changing, bins to empty, tidying up, washing up etc., etc. I do far more there than I ever do at home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.