WW1 painting in progress

1918 marks the 100 Year Anniversary of the U.S. Entry into WW1. My paternal grandfather, Clare, fought in France with Company K, 101st Regiment, 26th Division, the "Yankee Division". He fought alongside two future brothers-in-law and his older brother, Leon, who was killed at the end of September in 1918. My grandfather was not fighting in the sector with Leon, but managed to make it to the aide station where Leon lay, mortally wounded and was by his side as he died.

Our Hanover Historical Society will be compiling an exhibit commemorating the 100 Year Anniversary in the fall. I have my grandfather's letters home, his books about Company K and a few artifacts from his service to add to the display. I decided to do a painting after about a week of research, after much thought I began today. I'm still working out the background, the horrors of trench warfare in the upper left, adding a large field of poppies and my 'grampa' in his uniform(much to do on that front!) The painting is based on a photo taken at Camp Devens, Ayer, Massachusetts. I have established that the photo was taken before his discharge in April of 1919 and the reunion with his family, one of three families in this small town to have lost a son to "The Great War". The next time you see the painting, the background may have completely changed, but this is what I accomplished today. I'm striving show him leaving war behind, facing the sun and peace, finally.

He was a lovely man, who spoke of the war only once to me. It was a chilling story of a terrifying night  spent alone in no man's land, disoriented in the dark, lying flat until he could crawl back to his regiment at first light.


For the Record,
This day came in sunny and much warmer.


All hands happy that T is home with us again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.