If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Wasp.

Among the many jobs I wanted to get done before we go away was potting on 60 Sweet Pea seedlings.   Once potted they will be going to Kanyl to look after until we are back.  So there I was working away in the garden when a movement caught my eye.

Walking very slowly towards me was a wasp.  I am assuming a female just out of hibernation as it was very sluggish and quite large.  Well potting just had to stop, blipping comes first!  After taking a few shots I transferred it to a safer place.  Most wasps are meat eaters hunters, well until the nest stops producing young, from which they get a sweet secretion.  This means they do a lot of good killing other insects many of them what we would consider pest species,

I am not sure of the species of wasp, tentatively I will say it ia the common wasp Vespula vulgaris.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.