Unpolished

After yesterday’s celebrations a day of doing things. Phoned my mother on her birthday to wish her well; took the older young people for Sunday School discussing belief and what you can believe (all very relevant); shopped; washed; gardened; tidied up; congratulated a neice on her engagement (delighted!); caught up with emails; walked the dog; caught up with my brother and sister in law who popped in to inspect the house works; and watched the final episode of the very enjoyable Ordeal by Innocence.

In amongst all of this I went to clean my shoes with one of those liquid sponge units. I twisted the cap off and upended it to discover I had removed the sponge head and the liquid polish flowed everywhere. Forrunately only onto the kitchen tiles. The pool of oil-like black would have made a wonderful Hockneyesque blip but I was too focussed on cleaning up and avoiding the dog tracking the polish into the lounge carpet.

So this lesser display has to sum up the moment of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.