Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

They're Back

I wrote to a couple of people and told them my computer needed to be repaired and that I may be AWOL for a bit.  The general problem is that I can't download new photos from SD cards.  It kind of started last night but I was already a few days behind in posting so I had those photos already loaded.  The computer goes in tomorrow (Monday) afternoon.

This fella is a Black-chinned hummingbird, back for the summer from parts unknown (to me).  They aren't flashy colors but are small, flitty and cute; at least to me.  So far I've had a Broad-billed and Rufous pass through on their way to Madera but missed the shots.  But now I have these, Anna's and Costa's as regulars. 

The hooded orioles have made their return, too, as have the White-winged doves.  I'll get to them eventually.  There was a rather odd sight a few days ago.  A male cardinal, which I had never seen attracted to oranges before, was snacking on the half poked onto the top of the Shepherd's hook while at the same time a female oriole was nibbling on the oranges inside the suet feeder a meter away.  

Sometimes I just stand and watch.  I learned a long time ago that experiences are usually more rewarding and memorable when simply observed and appreciated than trying to get the shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.