The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Final Clearance

End -of-lease closedown. I not sure how long Inprint second hand bookshop has been in Stroud. At least 30 years, most people say. The top end of the High Street was a decaying mess when they started out. Not so now!

Mike and Joy Goodenough are retiring, and Stroud will lose a landmark business. I wonder about the new tenants. Will there even be any?

I blipped this shot on the way down to the pub to meet my friend Angela, recently returned from India.We ate before going to another pub, the Ale House, for the Piranha Poetry session. The guest poet, Anne Saunders, was impressive, and there were also fourteen poets taking part in Open Mic.
I wasn't one of them. The standard was medium-high.

Here's my own tiny effort, inspired by something I heard this evening, about how I feel about not being an active poet:

I am a rock, pounded by rain
I am skin, torn open again
Bloody words, drops of shame
Barren, unleavened -
Will rise again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.