The second half of life..

By twigs

Loo blues

No - not me! Poor wee LB.

On Saturday morning he was fine - as right as rain. When he came in on Saturday evening thoguh he walked straight past his food - he was clearly out of sorts and lacking in the usual LB spark. I found him later sitting behind a chair, hidden in a corner. I decided not to make him stay in overnight (he's an outdoors kinda guy!) but by Sunday morning, when he didn't show up at breakfast time, I was beginning to regret that decision.

The next I saw of him was Sunday late afternoon squatting in the garden and making the most awful pained whimperings - I got worried.

I brought him indoors and as soon as I picked him up he whimpered again. I noticed him several times go to his litter tray where he whimpered more. I began to think he must have a urinary tract infection. I decided he'd need to be at the vets as soon as I could get him there on Monday morning.

He slept indoors and kept me awake half the night with his pained whimperings.

Vets first thing this morning then an anguished day as the vet rings me regulalry and keeps me updated.

"We'll give him a relaxant drug which may relax the bladder enough for him to pee"

"We'll monitor him and see how his blood readings go"

"His blood readings are too high - we've syringed 100mls of urine from his bladder"

"His blood readings aren't dropping - we'd like to catheterize him and drain the bladder. It'll mean a general anaesthetic. It's dangerous with his blood readings so high but we can't wait"

Then finally . . . .

"He's fine. He has a drip and he's catheterized. He's perking up already"

When I finally got to see him late this afternoon he was sooooo much perkier than he'd been this morning though he still has another 24 hours minimum in 'hospital'.

I may need more than a loo when I get the bill - it's likely to be some $200 per kilogram of his body weight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.