Brrrrr.......

Like two fools, Wendy and I set off to Huntley Meadows this morning after being so impressed by Photomatt's blip on Sunday.   I usually have my act very much together but this morning I was really missing a few steps.  First I couldn't find my phone.  I went to use "Find my iPhone" but it required that I enter a code texted to my phone.  Really???? That was a first.  Must have to do with the new iOS11.   I did finally find it the old fashioned way.... retracing my steps.  Then I got in the car and couldn't find my keys and so another search ensued.  Once we got to our destination, I seemed to constantly wrestle with my tripod, pinching my fingers several times and the big lens seemed extra heavy. At least my cursing provided Wendy with some entertainment. 

The temperatures were in the low 40's, and we dressed accordingly but it was still damp and bone-chillingly cold.  The birds must have felt the same way because we only got a few glimpses of palm warblers, yellow-rumped warblers, one prothonotary warbler and some mallards and geese.  Briefly, a pair of Tufted Titmice perched in a tree nearby and I was able to get my numb fingers to fire off a few shots.  

Spring!  We are so desperate for it.  I decided this probably qualifies for Tiny Tuesday - it is a very tiny bird and it is one that I see every day in my backyard.  I normally don't have to drive 1 hour and fight the cold to get a shot of one. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.