Facelift

Our pavements are wonky and worn
and at long last the council's decided
they're well overdue for fresh tarmac
and soon they'll be mended and tidied.

But today, as I put out the dustbin,
I wonder how that will work out.
Is there room for both digger and dustcart?
All elbows pulled in, without doubt!

On Tuesday, they made little progress,
when the rain became heavy and wet!
But it's Wednesday today, and it's sunny,
almost perfect for tarmac, I'll bet.

So I offer, All power to their elbow!
May progress be steady and swift
as our excellent, labouring workmen
give the face of our pavements a lift.

© Celia Warren 2018


Actually, it's more than a facelift. As well as the aesthetic improvement, the pavement will be a lot safer for walking, with fewer holes and less plantlife.

I'm having more than a facelift, today - a sight-saver! Having expected a wait of at least two months, I had a phone call on Monday inviting me for laser treatment in my more badly affected eye with glaucoma. By widening the drainage duct at the back of the eye, the pressure will be reduced and the spread of glaucoma slowed down. They can't fix the damage, but they can reduce the risk of further loss of vision.

So thankful to live in a time and place where such treatments are available! Also very thankful to our wonderfully kind neighbours who are ferrying me to and from the hospital. (I shan't be able to drive for some hours after the op. There's no public transport. And Mr PP still cannot drive post hip-replacement.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.