Imagine . . .

. . .  I've finally finished Tim Riley's exhaustive biography of John Lennon which I began almost three weeks ago! You can see the original Blip here. I suppose I've read for around an hour a day, so it's been quite a long read.

I've enjoyed it though, and it's changed my view of the Beatles to some extent. I suppose that I learned a little more about John's bad boy rock star persona, but I've discovered a great deal more about his better side. He was a loving husband, twice, when it suited him, and a loving father, twice, particularly to his second son Sean, who was only five when John was murdered. He appeared generally friendly and respectful to other musicians, particularly when living in the USA, and was an intelligent and polite man, when it suited him. Otherwise he lived the typical life of a rock star, though probably always influenced by his difficult childhood.

I enjoyed reading about his affection for and later differences with his fellow Beatles and now feel maybe a little less enthusiastic about Paul, but more fond of George and Ringo. John obviously thought a lot of Ringo and worked with him on and off for most of his solo career. Obviously there have been many biographies of Lennon and doubtless the various authors have different views, but this one seems to be comprehensively researched and well written.

I feel slightly less unenthusiastic about Yoko too, it being made very clear that she didn't 'break up the Beatles' as is commonly stated - John made quite a good job of that even before meeting Yoko - and was somewhat less weird than I previously assumed. All in all an interesting book with a lot of information about other musicians of the time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.