Blips by cb

By cbimages

Beetle Traveller

This Beetle caught my eye in Hitchin this afternoon.  I'm sure that all the bits were for decoration, to look cool, but I thought that it had succeeded.

The extra photo is of the box on top; the incongruity of it tickled me.

I remember hiring a Beetle of this sort of vintage when they were new, back in the 70s.  In fact I nearly crashed one coming down an icy hill near Wantage, with a pupil of St Mary's on board.  She was probably scared rotten with my leaving the road and rumbling into a field.  Luckily the gate was open and the ploughed earth frozen solid, so no one else was the wiser about my off-roading . . .

And looking at the map of Hitchin, I see that there is a Handelsbanken in the town.  What is that doing there?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.