Birthday girl

Today's the day ......................... to blow out a candle

I've had such a nice day today, it being my birthday and all.  Lots of lovely presents, cards and messages - including a new 'Berkshire' flag from my sister Marj, to add to the collection (see extra). 

Will and I went out for a posh lunch at 'The Castle Dairy' - one of Kendal's finest restaurants.  We had the 5-course Taster Menu - so lots of small amounts of exquisitely-tasting food, beautifully presented.  And when they found out it was my birthday, I had a little cake complete with candle to blow out. 

Dating back to 14th century, the Castle Dairy  was originally a farmhouse which would have enjoyed open views towards the River Kent, The 'Dairy' in its name is most likely a mis-spelling of 'dowry' meaning a house where a dower or widow lived.

Legend has it that part of the floor, which is collectively made of thousands of worn pieces of stone, is part of the old Roman road that may have run along the banks of the River Kent ................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.