Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

All working models

Tonight I was one of 5 photographers who went from Hexham to speak at the Durham Photographic Society. Some of their members were in Hexham a couple of weeks ago.

I enjoyed the drive down on a sunny, clear evening. It gave me time to put my thoughts in order. My talk was entitled "Introducing People" because I wanted my images to introduce the viewers to people I had met and photographed.

I've enjoyed the preparation because it has encouraged me to think more about my photography practice and the ethics involved. I hardly managed to scratch the surface of this in my 15 minute slot. (Perhaps they will have me back for a full session sometime, although I doubt it.)

It's odd going in amongst another group. I was disappointed that so few of them came to say hello to the folk who were obviously not their members. I also made the mistake of choosing to sit in an aisle seat used by the tea/coffee person, who leapt forward to tell me to go and sit at the other end of the row. When I said I was speaking, he told me to go and sit in the front row. I dutifully did this and then had a crick in my neck because I was too close to the screen. You have to laugh.

My images went down well and the other people presenting did very well, particularly one of our newer members, Barbara. She started photographing rugby matches to help her husband who always photographs Tynedale rugby club. Barbara has moved on to horses and dogs. Great action shots.

George brought close up images of dragonflies and damsel flies. Gerry showed studio portraits which were then processed in various artistic ways. He has interesting ideas. Rob brought a huge number of old cameras to show (about 1/3 of his collection)

It's been a beautiful day. I managed a quick walk to the shop this morning but was mainly doing Festival business. I was at choir this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.