Market Day

We walked down to Partick. The weather was not too bad at all.


Got some meat, fish, salamis and salad, had a chat with Chris and Graham and walked back up the road.

We saw that Avenue Coffee had become something new! Now called Turadh, which is the Scottish Gaelic word for a “short spell of dry weather” if I am not mistaken. 
Not so sure why choosing that for a Café.
There were not much changes inside, but I think the menu has changed, although I do not fully recall the old menu, 
They also had several coffees from different roasters available which is always a plus.

We took a seat upstairs and ordered coffee. Still on decaf!
While sitting there, we could watch the chef from above. I studied how he was poaching eggs, trying to learn something to be successful one day.
The way he did it seemed effortless and easy!
The water was just simmering, he cracked the eggs directly in the water and then he forgot about them until it was time to take them out!
I need to try again.

We walked towards home afterwards, had a quick look into the Crafts fair at Hillhead Library, then stopped for Neil's hot towel shave.

Back home I was hungry and decided I will try to poach eggs for my breakfast.
And it actually worked!!! Only that I “forgot” the eggs for too long and they were a bit too hard.
Still tasty with my grilled Arbroath smokey and some salad.

It was Les and Barbara’s spring party night and we were lazy in cooking and decided to grab a salad and a smoked salmon side from Costco to bring with us for the buffet. 
We fetched it quickly, before we got ready for the party and set off to East Lothian.
It’s a good hour of drive and we were there just after 7 pm.
We had a good night catching up with people and nibbling nice food.
Finn was there and asked me if he could hire me as a photographer for promo shots for the 2 bands he has.
Of course I will do that. Looking forward to that.

We drove home after 2 am and I faffed a bit around in the kitchen before I went to bed after 5 am!

I am blipping the fish stall at the market. They appeared only by the end of last yer and have the best hot smoked salmon i had for a long time. They also bring  fresh Arbroath Smokeys, which I love for a breakfast.
She was not comfortable looking into the camera though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.