Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Mr Toad

 
I was out in the garden early this morning as I planned to be finished by lunchtime when it was going to be very hot. As usual I did not do all the jobs I had planned, but did some that were not on my list.
 
One of the jobs was to sort out and weed a small section of ground, commonly called “The Herb Garden” which is what my husband used it for before I lived here; my herbs are in tubs. This is where I am going to grow runner beans, courgettes and probably some salad items. The tomatoes and cucumbers are going on the balcony except those that will be placed in hanging baskets. I did not complete this job as I found today’s blip. I thought at first that it was dead, but then it moved. After photographing it I placed some leaves and moss around it so that it was still in a moist area and I went elsewhere to work. I hope it stays in that border, as it will help to get rid of any slugs.
 
This afternoon I shall be knitting, although it is rather hot for knitting, but the deadline for completing this project is fast approaching.
 
Dougal has been helping in the garden, but is indoors as, like me, he is not keen on being outside when it is too hot. Florence on the other hand is on the balcony. To be more precise, the wrong side of the balcony rails, sitting in the guttering. She stayed out all night recently even though I got up several times to see if she wanted to come in. She knows perfectly well how to get back onto the balcony and if she does not come down tonight, then I shall not get up to look for her.
 
 
Taken from Wikipedia, which I tell my students not to use!! I did not know this.
 
Toad is a common name for certain frogs, especially of the family Bufonidae, that are characterized by dry, leathery skin, short legs, and large bumps covering the parotoid glands

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.