Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Hurricane Sandy, Baltimore

This photograph doesn't really convey how wet and windy the storm is outside the Hilton Baltimore, but check the angle of the traffic lights and you'll get some idea. You wouldn't stay upright in this for long on a bike.

I've been outside twice today to take photographs. It's quite an exhilarating experience to feel the full onslaught of the weather for a few seconds. I'm glad that I have a nice cosy hotel room where I can shelter, and grateful that my flight home is on Wednesday. All services from Baltimore airport are cancelled today, as will be many tomorrow.

Update: I've just heard (at 17:30 Baltimore time) that a curfew will be applied across the city from 18:00 tonight until midday tomorrow (at least). The only people allowed out on the roads will be the emergency services.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.