Fish and chips night

... the third Friday in the month, when Dartmouth's best fish and chip shop, Rockfish, sells portions of 'catch of the day' and chips for just £3.00! Today it was hake, and very delicious it was, too. Quite generous portions, so no other catch to the after-5pm offer. Amazingly, there was no queue tonight and we were back home and tucking in before 5.30. Such a fabulous day weather-wise that we then sat in the garden - really feeing more like instant summer than spring!

It was looking good, too, as I spent all morning gardening, and we could see a difference. Still much to do, but made  a great start! Today is also exactly six weeks since Mr PP's op. One month ago, our son and daughter-in-law had just arrived for the weekend and my son drove me to get our fish and chips. (And the following three days we were 'enjoying' deep snow! What a difference a month makes!)

Earlier today, I'd eaten my breakfast porridge in the garden and then had 11ses outdoors, too, joined by a robin (of course) and even a goldfinch - and they're not usually so brave. My golden moment was when the blackcap appeared to take several gulps of water from the pond. I was standing only about ten feet away, and it didn't bat an eyelid. Just lovely for us and the birds to have the weather we've all been waiting for.

My blip, as it's Flower Friday, is of tulips and the fast-opening leaf buds of my Japanese maple in its second season. It survived two lots of snow and is looking very healthy. I enjoyed the toning reds side by side. My Extra is a panorama shot of Kingswear, across the river, viewed from Dartmouth, and the mouth of the river Dart.

Have a lovely weekend, blipmates!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.