St George Rotunda

One sight of Sofia which we didn't take in on our tour was St George Rotunda. The view of this old chapel is rather a cliche, but it is a pleasing form. Built by the Romans in the 4th century, it's supposed to be the oldest building in Sofia. It has some simple but very old frescoes which have been uncovered relatively recently, having been covered during the Ottoman period, when the building was used as a mosque.

Tonight I'm due to meet the maths teacher who guided my student through high school. I've a lot to thank her for since, without her, my student might never have come to study in Scotland. I'm sure that it will be a special moment for my student, too. Unfortunately the teacher speaks very little English so, unless she speaks French, my student will have a lot of translation to do. Hence I return to my study of Bulgarian! Looking down from my balcony I can see the slogan for a beer on the sunshade  of the bar downstairs, and it reads "мъжете знаят защо" which translates as "The men know why". Hardly a phrase which one could imagine being used in today's PC culture in the UK, but here things are more relaxed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.