Spring Reflections

It had been far too long since we'd visited my parents. We hadn't been there since the day after Christmas. The weather looked to be delightful, and so we threw a few things into the new car, and off we went on an adventure.

The day was just lovely, warm and sunny in the afternoon; the kind of true, blue-sky spring day we've been waiting for. The local Creme Stop is open now, but only on the weekends, including Friday and Monday.

So we ordered a very nice lunch (a fish sandwich, onion rings, and vanilla shake for me - check the extras for a picture) and my husband and father drove and picked up the food while my mom and I sat in the living room and chatted.

We watched the bluebirds in the backyard and talked about a lot of things. I'm not sure we solved any of the world's problems, but we hit some of the higher notes. Their doctor has recently retired so they have a new one now. There are some follow-ups: more appointments, tests. It isn't easy being almost 88 years old!

I snapped a few pictures of my parents sitting on a couch in the living room before we left and you may see a photo of them in the extras. On this day, they seemed well enough, and happy, and full of beans!

My husband and I often stop for a short outdoor adventure on our drive home, and this was no exception. We stopped at Hairy John's and took our chairs and sat by the little pond that has such lovely reflections. You may see one of my reflections shots above.

We took our books along but we didn't really have time to read. I walked around a little bit to check things out. What you cannot see is that the pond is loaded with amphibian eggs, so in a little while, things will be really jumping as we hop right into spring!

The song is a soundtrack for a drive up (or down) the country. Here is Canned Heat, with Going Up the Country, from Woodstock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.