As well as the flowery hats in the streets, finally allowed to be worn by women as well as men, there was some engaging music indoors, mostly from unknowns supporting the support acts: Harri Endersby from County Durham, Hoverhawk from Oxford and Sgrepane with no internet presence I can find: two sisters and a brother singing traditional songs in close harmony from their north Alpine valley in a north Italian dialect.

Also I sat, increasingly irritated, through an entitled and misogynist support act from Nick Dow. I thought it was just me and my prejudices but in the ladies' afterwards I discovered a consensus. He'd said during his act that he was too old for PC and one woman said, 'I'm older than him and I'm not too old for PC.' Quite. It's perfectly possible to reframe folk music and Eliza Carthy, performing solo, gave a good demonstration of how. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.