Garden day

I decided I needed to divide my day lilies. I had put one in years ago and they say you need to divide them!! Horror as to what I would find. I also wanted to empty the compost heap but needed somewhere to put the compost. I had partially cleared a patch near the clothesline so thought I would combine the jobs.

The daylily was tied up in knots with bulbs and bearded iris. It split into about 20 plants, 50 bulbs and 10 iris. I don’t like throwing them away so cleared another patch under the crepe myrtle. Now I have a huge clump of winter iris. Under the clothesline I dug out about a thousand geranium sanguineum. Help does anyone want any plants?

Here is a picture of a little patch with the newly divided plants ( daffodils underneath) and odd assortment of rocks. As soon as I planted anything one of the dogs dug it up...ha ha. also the cat will eye it off as a good scratching spot so I’ll have to find a more permanent solution to the problem.

To top off a great gardening day we had another storm with a bit more useful rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.