Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Common field speedwell

..or Veronica persica, found squatting on my so-called lawn.  Surprisingly it seems to have survived being mown by me earlier this week.

Meanwhile today I've seen quite a lot of the lovely young family that live on one side of me.  Being a groundsman by profession, 'he' has taken over mowing the grass square at the front of my house, so that got its first cut today.  Meanwhile 'she' and their daughter have been having whispered conversations about the number of small wildflowers that make their home in my grass.  Apparently the little one thinks I am a 'spirit girl' because I know the names of the flowers.  Girl??  You do have to smile, don't you. 

And I've managed to find online a copy of the child-friendly flower book my granny gave me when I was that age so I've ordered it for her.  A small return for the mowing, which I know will be done all summer.

So that's been my peaceful Sunday.  Hope yours has been good too  xx

2018Wildflower list to date:
snowdrops
gorse (or furze)
wild daffs
coltsfoot
primroses
blackthorn
greater periwinkle

goat willow
ground ivy
cowslips
marsh marigolds

daisies
speedwell

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.