This is a mirror that we have had for a long time and it has always hung in the hallway - it is not as big as it looks and just fits in a narrow bit of wall. I bought it in Edinburgh, probably just because I liked it. 

Now, I wonder whether this is Art Nouveau, Art Deco, or a copy of a Rennie Mackintosh design. Or is it none of these and just a design that the person who made it liked and I did too. 

The reason for this is that I am starting today on a online three month university course - Art Nouveau Across Europe. I hope that this study will help to put into context all the bits and pieces I have come across - Arts and Crafts at Blackwell, Rennie Mackintosh in Glasgow, Art Deco in Napier etc. 

Of course I already have a list of places I need to visit! And the list is growing! 


PS
I was amazingly successful in choosing the shortlist for the 'The Women's Prize for Fiction' - three of my four got on the list and the ones I didn't think were good enough did not make it. It means that I now have three more books to read though . . . as well as a big book called 'Art Nouveau'. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.