Wet Mutt, Kingcup

After a quick visit to John Lewis in Welwyn Garden City I went to Panshanger Park. I'd read Robert Macfarlane's word of the day, Chelidonias, a "swallow-bearing wind" and knew that swallows would be swooping over Repton's Broadwater and hoped to capture them. I achieved my aim but my pics weren't great. I got images of a kite and a pair of buzzards in combat and a squirrel and a pair of jackdaws in the five-hundred-year-old oak tree. My favourite pics were of dogs. As I was shooting by the oak a man and a woman with identical black and white collie dogs approached. They sat on the log seat with me and the dogs ran around the tree railings as though it was a track. The man and woman met in the park, not sure whether they're an actual item but they're firm friends. Their dogs are nearly the same age. It was lovely to see two dogs and two people so happy.

The brown collie dog in my pic is brought to the park about three times a week by its master. It loves the Dog Dip. The yellow flower is a kingcup or marsh marigold. I photographed cuckoo flowers too.

Lovely to see that The White Horse had got its St George's Day bunting out when I passed through Hertford on the way home. Lovely also that we have a new English prince. :)   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.