Cup of kindness

This morning, I was tired and didn't want to get up. But I did. I took Little Miss to school despite the fact that it's a nightmare to get in and out, due to the ridiculous bottle neck of a driveway.

Then I decided that a chai latte was in order, so I went to my favourite place for one. Instead of getting my usual takeaway, I decided to sit in and have it. I never do this.

A relaxing cuppa and a flick through a new recipe book I purchased last week.

Then I came to pay. I couldn't find my wallet. I searched through my bag to no avail.

I asked the guy if I could just run to my car, where I had some coins so that I could pay for my cuppa. He said that would be no problem. Just before I fled out of the door, I was told that Kev, one of our local bus drivers, had paid for my chai and that I was all good. I thanked Kev and then went to my car to have a think about where my wallet might be. I wasn't panicking, just not looking forward to having to stop and renew all my cards!

I checked my bank account to remind myself of my movements, then popped into the last two shops I remember going to with it.

A brainwave on my way home reminded me that I had put it in my camera bag on Sunday, and had not put it back in my handbag. Phew! Disaster averted.

I rang the bus company and asked them to pass on my thanks to Kev, then went to the cafe and paid for Kev's next cup of coffee, so he'll have a nice surprise when he's next in there.

The funny thing is, I never sit in and drink my chai there. I also very rarely take photos of a cup of tea in a cafe! The reason I did today was that I will be at school until 9 pm and thought I might not get a shot in otherwise.

And what a wonderful act of kindness this tasty cup of chai brought about.

~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.