Saving face

Most of what you see here are facades. View large for scale

I'm wedged into an awkward position on the edge of the cordon on High St close to Alice's. On the right is a small amount of side brick wall and a massively protected facade facing onto High St. I'm struggling to work out which shops used to be behind the remaining facade but possibly Storm fashion shop and Kennedy's Jewelers.

The centre part is the across Manchester St. All we see here is the remaining facade. When I cross the Manchester Tuam intersection I can glimpse the massive structural support behind it.

On the left is near side of Manchester St. The old facade of the building Two Fat Indians was in has also been saved.

I have mixed feelings about saving facades. On the one hand I'm pleased to see some remains of the CBD I knew. But all those bricks with mortar that must surely have no structural integrity left makes me nervous.

The future shape of Christchurch will be interesting.

A super-duper ride to work this morning. Full of beans, the joy of life and the ease of navigating the nightmare hold ups around the Riccaraton round about. Plenty to challenge me at work and a few lingering jobs cleared from my list. I can't complain.

The light is fading from the day and the need to visit the super market is calling me. At least my new local supermarket is easy to shop at. I've managed to visit a few journals tonight and post a few comments. I'll be back :-)

3 more big sleeps until I head to the high country with the hunter, the young hunter and a couple of others to fish. 4 more big sleeps until the fishing season opens at Lake Heron.

Yesterday's Programme seller at the Court Theatre

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.