Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Cup & Ring

Not my first walk of the year in Chacefield Wood, near Denny, and not my first Blip from there this year either. But these 'cup & ring' marks in Chacefield Wood are a first for me.

I became aware of them only recently - I really should pay attention to the walks leaflets produced by the local council! - and decided to seek them out on a walk around the wood on Monday. Thankfully, they were easy to find, just off the main path, and just as thankfully they were not vandalised or defaced.

No-one is really certain as to the meaning or purpose of 'cup & ring' marks - all that seems to be known is that they date from late Neolithic to early Bronze-Age times and are therefore somewhere between 3000 - 5000 years old. But it is quite remarkable that some survive in Denny!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.