Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Scenery finished in back corners

Today I finished the trees and ground cover in the back two corners.  Still might add some leafy bushes, but it is good for now.  I think the trees came out OK and I added several trunks.  I bought the trunks from the McKensie Brothers.  They collect the cuttings from the local vineyards in California, then band them together to dry - straight.  Next is to cut them to length, and drill holes in the top (for my tree armature) and insert a piano wire in the bottom for planting.  Cannot imagine doing that for all the trees these guys make and sell, but thankfully they will sell just the trunks.  And they make the trees look better I think.  The ones in the back do not have trunks.

The extra is the finished scenery (also today) in the opposite corner.  Now I have the scenery done (if ever) across the back of the layout and a little up the sides.  Have not attached the ground on this side of the tracks as yet until I get some buildings made.  

Always something on the list for next time.

I also cleaned the track and am ready to run trains tomorrow.  I will try and video #74 with a passenger train as that was it's "star" appearance on the RGS.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.