dreaming

By dreaming

Asiana

Today I was again at the Asian bargain market across the avenue, where I bought this porcelain plate with raised edges to take the place of an Italian earthenware I've had for many years but which has finally bitten the dust.  There were originally four of them, and nothing else quite serves the same purpose.  I'm hoping this will do.  It matches a mug that I purchased several months ago, which turned out to be just the right size.  I've posed them here on top of an Ikat-patterned ottoman I put together the other day - I'm hoping that, although it's cloth-covered, Minkelina will not tear it to shreds with her claws.  At least, not for a while.

As usual, I was one of only two non-Asian customers in the store.  On a much smaller scale, it reminded me of shopping in San Francisco's Chinatown during my internship year there 40 years ago.  It was the best place to buy fresh produce and wonderful Chinese savory pastries.  On a sunny day, it was a joy to be there, and the memory is still vivid in my mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.