Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Newberry

About 30 minutes from my house is the town of Newberry which is a pretty neat little town..I could probably move there if that was in the future for us...it is that kind of town.    Anyway,  today I decided to go there to the "tent market"..an open air farmers market under a huge tent that has veggies and flowers.   The flowers were the main reason for the trip...I knew it was a possibility that they might have a clematis plant like the one I posted yesterday that I decided I had to have for my own yard.   The other reason was they always have the best tomatoes and I really wanted to have a tomato sandwich. 

No clematis but five tomatoes came home with me.  No sandwich today but maybe tomorrow.    And the flowers...just wow and I have so much willpower NOT to buy gerberas, marigolds and lantana..along with hibiscus, mandeville and hydrangea...oh..the geraniums were great too!   Rosebushes with blooms..I am so proud of myself for being strong to withstand their temptation..I would have them all but then I would have to take care of them!  

Since I was in Newberry, I went to Main Street where they have done a marvelous restoration combining old and new.  There is the original 1800's opera house and several restaurants along with shops in old buildings.    The side street next to the opera house is brick which is the bottom of this photo.  The building facing across this street has the murals and the decorative brickwork.  Part of the brickwork to the right of the main sitting on the bench has been painted dark green with red accents to go with the front of the building facing main..this section was left natural.  Bergens was a department store in town many years ago.   I could have spent a good part of the day walking in the area but other things called me away!

As I was leaving town I saw a little sign that said Wells Japanese Garden so there I went.   A tiny garden with a pagoda and other Oriental looking architecture/art where I got some great photos which were all DELETED from the other camera by a slip of my finger!  In a hurry and zap..they were gone.  And I had one I really was going to use for my post today!

So guess where I am going tomorrow!    

In the extras is the other side of the building with the new paint job.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.