Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Short billed dowitcher

Today we decided to paint the trim on the windows on the outside of our house.  We have had the paint since last fall so it was way past time.  So I taped the edges and the hubs scraped the sills..then we painted five windows.  I told him I wanted to go back to Newberry to the Japanese Garden to retake the photos I deleted yesterday.  So he said let's go to get lunch in Newberry and I could get my photos, then we could finish the windows after lunch.  What did I say...."Yes."  

We went by the garden first and as we walked through the little gate we saw a movement at the pond.   It was this bird!  A short billed dowitcher as far as I can tell. It was definitely not there yesterday unless it was hiding in the thick green iris leaves.   He let me get very close...almost touching distance...I wondered if it was hurt or if it was a female with a nest nearby.   I took all the photos I  wanted of the bird,  of the flowers and other things there and the bird never moved from its spot except to follow me with its eyes.   Maybe it lives there all the time and is used to people. I was just happy to see it!  

Our internet service is not working so I am using the tablet that works on Verizon cell tower service to post. I had to take a photo of the photo on the laptop to do this blip but that good old iPhone did great.  The service guy is supposed to be here tomorrow...I hope!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.