Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Walking Iris

I had to wait around this morning for a call from the internet technician for a time to be here to repair my internet.     Since I could not use the tablet or phone without using up my data plan,  I decided to give the kitchen a good clean thinking as soon as I starting moving things off the counters and washing down the cabinet doors, the guy would call.  Murphy's law, right.    No, I actually finished up a super clean of the kitchen and then decided to water my house plants.    Still no call. 

Imagine my surprise when a spot of white caught my eye up under the curtain rod in the dining room where I had this spider plant/airplane plant hanging ..there was a BLOOM!   Who knew there were blooms on a spider plant..not me!  None I have ever had (and killed) has every had anything resembling a bloom..just the new growth.    So I carefully moved the plant off the curtain rod to see what it really looked like...it looked like an orchid or lily or iris.    It is small..about 4 inches across.      I had to look up spider plant to see what it said about blooms so I did using my phone.   Luckily it came right up..St. Bernards Lily!      Totally the wrong information!  Thanks to Maura for getting me the correct name.  It is not even a spider plant but a plant called a walking iris (  Neomarica )  I think there is another bloom.   I am going to add some plant food in hopes that any new shoots will get blooms.  

Still no call..so I decided to take my walk with the dog..and the call came when I was  halfway back to the house.  He was just down the road and wanted to know if it was okay to come now..and I just got back in the door when he arrived.  A half hour later...all was fixed.   New power supply and new router..at no cost to me since the old failed!     I can also tell some difference in the speed so maybe photos will load up a little faster.   

Hope everyone has a great weekend!   I hope to get out for a good walk or even a hike in the woods!  

I did change the photo of the dowitcher from yesterday to the actual photo.  It is much better than the phone photo I posted.  

Thanks Anni for hosting flower friday!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.