Salvage from the Wreckage

By NickMogToo

Immortality

Saturday?
Tennis, jobs, took the repaired sewing machine over to mum’s for a test sew. It seems to work...

Sunday
New 10K route. For the second time in a row, the phone/Strava got lost and just drew a straight line on the map for half the run. Apparently, this might be fixed by going to latest version of iOS. I’ll try it.

Monday
1/4 Finals! Good game but a reasonably comfortable 2-0 win.

Tuesday
No run at lunchtime, no football or tennis in the evening. Preparing for Wednesday’s relay race. Watched the 2nd 1/4 final at lunchtime. Very close game but Stemfica beat Estates in extra time. So we play Stemfica on Friday. We narrowly beat them in the group stage. Should be close...

Today
The annual OU 1.1 mile relay race. Regretted agreeing to do this when I was collared a week ago. I went off in the first leg. As always, set off too fast. The trick seems to be to do this then just hang on as much as you can. My first relay was in 2002 when I did 6:26. Since then I’ve been mostly in the teens. Fastest was 6:08 in 2007 or 2008. Last year was 6:13.
This year? 6:13 again! I’ll take that. It means that I’m not going slower. Which means that I’m not getting older (doesn’t it?). Not sure that it might not be hurting more, though. Spent the afternoon coughing in the traditional way. But, when the result came out, reassured to see that I was the fastest of the people I play football with. Scoring one for the old guys over the whippersnappers.

I was 15th overall which, considering the number of people from local running clubs, I’m happy with.

Actually, I was 14th because the fastest person ran in TWO legs (for separate teams). He did a 5:28 on the first leg, had a short break and then ran 5:25 on the last leg! Wow!

2017 https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2311242353957931527

2015
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2040196228150463243

2014 https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4291306

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.