Picture this..

By northernlass261

Exercise in Botanical Drawing

A beautiful sunny day, the wind getting up late afternoon.

Today saw us visiting with our Agent and him giving us the keys to an apartment to view.   Only a stones throw from where we are and his offices are still very handy.   So we agreed that the apartment would suit.   We await visiting a storage facility, possibly tomorrow or early next week - entirely up to us so we will try tomorrow, although Alan is expecting a parcel and he doesn't want to be out if it arrives.

We have started sorting out what is going back to England with us and what is staying here, so some boxes in the lounge all ready, and others part packed in the spare bedroom.   Good job we won't be having visitors.   So all in all a good day's work.

I mentioned last week I was teaching myself Botanical Drawing using Graphite and Coloured Pencils.   Starting last year in Scarborough I am working through a wonderful book by Sue Vize.   This is the first full exercise I have worked through in coloured pencil, trying to follow the instructions carefully.    More difficult than you would think blending the colours correctly - plus I have a limited choice of colours at the moment.  Hopefully I will remedy this in England.

This is a study in roots and storage organs and this is:
Bulb of Daffodil (Narcissus tazetta 'Geranium').   

I usually don't like to show what I am doing, but Alan says there does not seem any point in drawing if I am not going to show anyone.   I have included in extras a picture from the book of what it is supposed to be like.   I am quite pleased with it but I know it can be improved upon.

Question to all you good photographers out there - the actual drawing is on white paper but I couldn't get it to look white.   Any advice please?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.