SueScape

By SueScape

Rembrandt, the broken tulip

Hi Guys!
Yes, I'm back after more than a year, with initially sporadic entries into my photo journal.

This is a bed of Rembrandt Tulips at Standen, East Sussex. Called broken because in the 1600's golden days of tulip growing in Holland s, it was the first streaked or striped tulip, caused by a virus.  A single bulb could cost a year's earnings. Of course, modern varieties no longer have the virus, but retain the delicious stripyness and rainbow colours. I'm going to order a whole batch of them for next year, to bring their gloriousness into my little garden.

This beautiful tulip is a survivor, just like me! [sorry, dreadful segway]. I'm pleased to say my husband is currently cancer free, and  I am in remission. I've been doing well on a newly licensed drug for 3 months now, and hopefully can stay on it for a year. This should give me a couple of years free of the dreaded chemo. The news that this drug was working for me came on the anniversary of my 7 years survival, living with this dreadful disease in spite of statistics which said I should have given up 5 years ago. Thanks to all who have made this possible, in any way. Eternally grateful.

Sue xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.