The Tin Man and Friends

I met a man on the boardwalk at Millbrook Marsh the other morning who offered photographic advice and told me about a beautiful tree he had seen. He told me where, and I made note to go look for it. For as you well know, I am a lover of trees.

So the next morning, I went in search of that tree. My travels took me onto some roads I am not sure I even knew existed. It was all fine and dandy, and very scenic and fun, but somehow, much to my disappointment, I never came across that tree.

I did, however, end up on Linden Hall Road for a bit, and there are some fun things to see there too. There is a farm property that has some big trees and a cool tree house, and these: figures of the Tin Man and his friends, made out of metal.

There's Toto, of course, but I'm not sure who the roundish fellow to the right may be. These figures have been standing in this spot for 20 years or more. I know because I have seen them before; and a friend of mine took a picture a lot like this a long time ago.

Back then, I think the Tin Man had a metal head, not one made of pumpkin. But this one looks pretty cool, even if it may not be the original. Are they headed to or from Oz? Where are the rest of the crew? One can only guess. But there's one thing that I DO know. . . .

That Oz never did give nothing to the Tin Man
That he didn't, didn't already have.
And Cause never was the reason for the evening
Or the tropic of Sir Galahad
(whatever the heck that means!)

The song to accompany this posting is, of course, America, with Tin Man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.